It is currently Mon May 06, 2024 2:32 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 11:50 am 

I am really looking forward to being on campus for the opener Friday night. I have officially put the pre-season "bumps in the road" behind me, hopefully the team has as well. Does anyone have an update on the injuries? Hope no one is in street clothes on Friday. Go Ramblers!!

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 2:11 pm 
Site Admin

I have no confirmed inside knowledge, but I would not expect Tanner Williams or Milton Doyle to be ready to play in the first several games of the season. The Tanner Williams injury sounds more severe, given his knee surgery last season and reports from the scrimmage and exhibition. Tony Nixon is banged up and didn't play at all in the exhibition, either. I'm hopeful for Milton Doyle to be able to play a few minutes by the Rockhurst game on Nov. 19, but no one knows what the extent of his injury could be. We'll obviously need him at full strength by the MVC season if we want to have enough depth to compete with teams in the middle of the standings.

I was very concerned by the performance of Cody Johnson in the Lewis game. He made two fouls and a turnover in two minutes on the court before being yanked. I don't think we can rely totally on O'Leary and Osborne to fill up the lane-- we're going to need minutes from somewhere else. If Tanner Williams is unable to play, Cody Johnson is not ready to play, and Jeremy King doesn't have the confidence of the coach yet, where are minutes in the paint going to come from? Christian Thomas can only do so much, and the physicality of the MVC season is going to take a huge toll on O'Leary and Osborne if they're expected to play 25+ minutes every game.